thebusythistle

Scrapbook Decorating

The colours of the walls in my living room are teal (Dulux Hawaiian Blue 3 to be exact)…all over…none of this feature wall business. You either love it or you hate it! I have loved it for four years however the weather in Scotland seems to be getting progressively worse each year and although it is a south facing room, it just feels too dark now, particularly on grey days. It’s also a nightmarish room in which to take photos! I have made the heartbreaking decision to repaint the walls!

I love colour however my head is ruling my heart on this one so the walls are going to become a shade of cream…probably about 7 coats of cream by the time the teal is finally covered up!

I’m determined however to inject colour into the room through the accessories and the displays of art and objects on the walls! It’s going to be an ongoing project over the next couple of months.To give me inspiration I have been sorting through piles of torn out photos from magazines that I have kept over the years and have decided to create a sort of mood board in my scrapbook.

Teal is very fashionable at the moment and judging by the colour themes that come out of the pictures I’ve selected, it’s still going to have a presence in the room. I ordered new sofas yesterday and was going to go for the blue colour, however I have refrained – I want the sofas to last a number of years so again I have gone down a neutral route…I will get colour into that room somehow! What are your favourite colour schemes? Do you have any favourite colour combinations? I’d love to read your ideas!

This entry was published on April 13, 2012 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Scrapbook Decorating

  1. Sounds exciting, Anna! I second your good idea of staying with a neutral-coloured sofa. That will allow for even more colour changes in the coming years, should the mood strike you again! My favourite colour is green, and in my former days of choosing decorating schemes, everything tended to end up some shade of green or other! I particularly liked sage and khaki (think Florida palm trees!).

  2. Rachie on said:

    Maybe a lighter shade of teal than straight neutral?

Comments are closed.

