thebusythistle

My home art gallery

Yesterday in my lunch break I nipped into my locall art gallery, the McManus Art gallery, to see a new exhibition of the work of Caddell, one of the reknowned Scottish Colourists. I love his work; still lifes, landscapes of the Western Isles and gorgeous interiors with glamorous women from the beginning of the 20C.

I like him so much that I have this framed print on the wall (wish it was the real thing)! This got me thinking about the other works of art I have up in the house and how I’m about to add to them (this week hopefully) so I thought I would give you a little tour!

 

These were both birthday presents

 

 

Unfortunately I can’t remember the artists’ names however these are original paintings. I also have a couple of collage type works:

Finally I have some photos framed that I took myself and a set of watercolours of the Lake District which used to hang in my grandparents house.

I love having interesting things to look at on my walls and have grand plans for the living room once the redecoration is complete. I’ll also post up a picture of my latest addition to the gallery when I get my hands on it this week (it’s being framed at the moment).

Do you have a favourite artists? If you had pots of money and could buy any work of art you wanted, what would it be and why?

This entry was published on April 21, 2012 at 7:30 pm. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Making and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
