thebusythistle

Day 14 – A piece of literary-inspired jewellery

This is the Bronte brooch – I got this idea from a trawl through Etsy and thought “I can give that a go!” I’m really pleased with the result.

I used flower-shaped cookie cutters to draw out two flowers of different sizes onto two pages from Charlotte Bronte’s ‘Jane Eyre’. These were then cut out and attached to white felt with a backstitch.

I then cut round the paper shape to reveal a felt-backed paper flower.

The smaller one was placed on top of the larger flower and then sewn together through the middle. To add a bit of interest I then attached a button to the middle.

A brooch backing was then attached to the back and there you have it! It only took about half an hour to make – I think this could definitely be a winner for Christmas presents!

This entry was published on June 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm. It’s filed under Busy Living, Busy Making, Busy Month of June and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Day 14 – A piece of literary-inspired jewellery

  1. weefi on said:

    ooo – that’s a great idea. Will definitely give that a go

  2. Fabulous! Well done you!

  3. patient mama on said:

    I want one!

Comments are closed.

