thebusythistle

Day 16 – Children and books

Today I helped a friend host an Usborne book party. She’s hoping to set up a little Usborne franchise business and once the business has a name, I’ll be putting up more details on the blog.

This morning was filled with Mums chatting to their children about books, and children browsing through the books themselves. It was such a heart-warming sight; I’ve worked with quite a few children in the past and it can sometimes be so disheartening to listen to children who don’t know any fairy stories or nursery rhymes, or who have never been to a library. The best thing is when you are in a book shop and a parent is taking time to speak to their child about choosing a book; parents who take this time are really setting up their children for a bright future. I’m having a bit of a rant today, however we really shouldn’t underestimate the power of books and reading on children – from this, they obtain all the language tools that they will need.

All of this reminded me of a Robert Louis Stevenson poem from the Child’s Garden of Verses hence the photo at the top of this post. The illustration is by Michael Foreman and I think it perfectly illustrates my point!

Have a lovely Saturday!

This entry was published on June 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm. It’s filed under Busy Living, Busy Month of June and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Day 16 – Children and books

  1. My grandmother gave me ‘A Child’s Garden of Verses’ when I was a wee babe, even before I could read. I love that book!

Comments are closed.

