thebusythistle

Sewing Advice Needed!

Since the living room curtains, my sewing machine has been gathering dust. I just haven’t known what to make next. Then at the weekend I bought myself a simple pencil skirt pattern and some metres of fabric in the John Lewis sale. The patterned fabric is going to be turned into a table cloth for my farewell-summer-hello-autumn dinner party whilst the purpl fabric underneath is going to become a fab skirt for the new season….I hope.

Before I embark on this I wondered if there were any useful sewing tips out there, particularly concerning the mysterious world of sewing patterns? All advice gratefully received!

This entry was published on September 6, 2012 at 5:24 pm. It’s filed under Busy Making and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Sewing Advice Needed!

  1. patient mama on said:

    As nobody has, as yet, left a reply, I’ll add my bit. I tend to make things a size bigger than my dress size as I find the seam allowances a bit nippet and if you make it too small there is little you can do about it. You can always take a bit in if it comes out too big. I cut corners but I suggest you do mark the darts rather than what I do, which is a messing about with pins and a great deal of hope!. I can show you how to do it properly if you want.

  2. creative pixie on said:

    I agree with patient mama – always give a bigger seam than the pattern allows cause I find the pattern sizes smaller than they should be. Also it may be worth making a paper or scrap fabric version to see if the sizing is correct. Also marking the darts is a must. I’m quite bad in that when I make clothes I get quite impatient and want to do it all in 1 sitting. It may be best to cut the pattern in 1 go, cut the fabric in another go and finally sew it all together; that way you shouldn’t get frustrated with it as that’s when mistakes can happen.
    All the best with your project, I look forward to seeing the finished results.

Comments are closed.

