thebusythistle

A cosy winter accessory to make

Over the last week I’ve been working on these; a cosy pair of handwarmers for the autumn and winter. To make these I had to chop up a cashmere jumper…a horrible moment!

Holes were beginning to appear you see but I still couldn’t bring myself to part with it entirely – it’s soooo soft – so I thought I would make a pair of handwarmers and turn the main body into a tank top sort of creation (but that’s another post)!

You need to chop the sleeves to your desired length, bearing in mind that the sleeve will cover up half of your hand. They then need hemming, which was a little bit tricky to get a neat finish, but I got there in the end!

Once that is done you need to sew a few stitches between where your thumb and index finger will be to create a seperate opening for your thumbs. They’re technically finished at this point however I felt they were in need of some embellishment so I got out the beads!

Sewing these beads on to create a symmetrical pattern on each was extremely tricky but again, with a bit of perseverance, I managed to create something that I liked.

I really think these will come into their own when I’m out on frosty days, camera in hand, and then cupped around a mug of steaming hot chocolate at the end of a photographic outing! It is also really satisfying to make something new out of something old – I thoroughly recommend it!

Hope you’re having a good week? I can’t quite get my head around the fact that it is October and work is really busy however I have some fun things happening in the next couple of months and soon it will be Christmas- crazy!

This entry was published on October 2, 2012 at 5:00 pm. It’s filed under Busy Making and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
