thebusythistle

Books for Christmas

Xmas BooksI love books! I love buying new books, I love reading books and I love having shelves groaning with books. E-books are particularly attractive for their portability however I can’t ever see an e-book being a substitute for a beautiful coffee table book. I thought I’d put together some of my favourites as inspiration for Christmas gifts this year – I don’t think you can ever go wrong buying a book for Christmas!

Xmasbooks (1) Xmasbooks (2)For the foodies in your life, these two books are ideal purchases. Polpo is a Venetian-inspired restaurant based in London and this cookbook is a new release. The recipes are simple but tasty and the photography of Venice is inspired. In fact, the book is a work of art itself, in its layout and binding.

I recently purchased the Flavour Thesaurus and wished that I had bought it sooner. It’s a fascinating reference book of flavours and flavour combinations. What I really like though is that the author scatters anecdotes, historical facts and recipes in amongst the entries so it is a fascinating and inspired read. It has already given me some ideas for future dinner parties!

Xmasbooks (6) Xmasbooks (3)For design-conscious friends, Orla Kiely’s book is a must. Again the photography is gorgeous and it contains all sorts of advice for people wanting to enter into the design world as a career. I’ve also thrown in the party planning book by Pippa Middleton. I didn’t have much hope for this when I bought it (it’s reduced in WHSmith at the moment) however I was pleasantly surprised. It contains a mixture of recipes, crafts and tips, organised by season. I did have a little chuckle at the photos because they all contain very well-to-do adults and children looking like they’ve stepped out of the party pages of Hello magazine, however, really, what do you expect! There’s enough in it to make it a viable purchase.

Xmasbooks (7)This book is perfect for people who love to get out and about. It contains all sorts of inspiration for weekends away, and clearly highlights how lucky we are to live in a country which has such a varied landscape. Again the photography is its main selling point and I love to escape into its pages when I feel in need of some time off but can’t afford to do so because of cash or actual time.

Xmasbooks (5) Xmasbooks (4)Finally for children….I went down the book route this year and had to stop myself from buying copies for the Busy Thistle Library! This LEGO book will inspire any reluctant reader who has a love of building and creating. It basically provides a history of all the ranges that LEGO have every produced, plus ideas for things to make at home. For those children who have an artistic creative edge, then the Usborne art and craft books make a perfect gift. The projects are clear and simple, and they always end up looking like the photographs. In fact, I often turn to them myself for inspiration for quick and effective projects to make.

So those are my choices! Do you have a favourite coffee table book that you think every household should have? What’s your opinion on e-books versus hard copy?

This entry was published on December 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm. It’s filed under Busy Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Books for Christmas

  1. I do love my ebook reader, but it will never be a substitute for a beautiful book full of photos and lovely paper stock. They serve different functions, I suppose. Love both 🙂

  2. creative pixie on said:

    I love my KIndle (for cheap books) but when it comes to craft books – the hard copy version provides the best inspiration.

Comments are closed.

