thebusythistle

A spring day out? Not quite!

Leven (5)Yesterday was lovely and sunny, and today was supposed to be the same so I was determined to get out and about. Well…I woke up to sunshine but that had disappeared by the time I got going! However, I was not deterred and decided to head to Loch Leven, the place where Mary, Queen of Scots, was held captive before removal down south and removal of her head, courtesy of Queen Elizabeth I.

The town of Kinross sits on its banks and we have a running joke in the family about how it always rains in Kinross on our way to Edinburgh. Well today it didn’t though it was rather blustery, cold and grey! A path has been created, the Loch Leven Heritage Trail, around three-quarters of the loch taking you from Kinross round to the south and the bird hide at Vane Farm, so I thought I would check a bit of it out and get some photos.

Leven (4)I didn’t go far today, but I definitely want to come back on a sunnier day. It’s a great place for bikes too – there were lots of people out but not in an intrusive way.

Leven (6) Leven (7)On the route is Loch Leven’s Larder, which has an extensive gift shop, gorgeous farm shop and a restaurant reknowned in Scotland for the quality of its food. It did not disappoint; I had the minute steak ciabbatta and it was absolutely delicious (the highlight of the day I think)!

Leven (3)

The restaurant was extremely busy, I think booking is advisable, so I was sat on a high bar stool and table at the window, however the view was far better than if I’d been sitting at a regular table. I quite fancied sitting in the outdoor dining pods but I think you have to book them.Leven (2) Leven (1)Anyway, once I was replete with tasty food I headed on back home and read blog posts from people down south who appear to have been enjoying lots of spring sunshine today! We’re not quite there yet up here; I’m really looking forward to the blossom coming out, lifting a rather bleak, forlorn landscape. Colour is beginning to happen in the form of crocuses and daffodils – fingers crossed as the week progresses we’ll start to see a change! Hope you did something nice today and have a lovely, restful, Sunday!

This entry was published on April 20, 2013 at 8:24 pm. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A spring day out? Not quite!

  1. I really want those pods to have mechanical tables which disappear down and come back up again with your food on them. I’m assuming they don’t but someone wants to design one of those.

Comments are closed.

