thebusythistle

Festival Fever in Scotland!

Scotland's Festivals (1)I picked up this free booklet at the weekend when I went for a walk around the Botanic Gardens and was amazed by just how much is going on in Scotland this year! There is really no excuse for a boring summer, so I suggest you find a copy and get out there exploring!

Scotland's Festivals (2)All the usual ‘biggies’ such as ‘T in the Park’ and the Edinburgh International Festival are in there, however I am more intrigued by the smaller scale, obscure events that are taking place. Annoyingly some of these have already happened however there are still plenty of festivals to search out. I started circling some of my favourites to share with you!

Scotland's Festivals (3)I think the Crieff Berry Festival is a must. I love soft red fruits, and this is the crop which is most associated with Angus and Perth. In fact, I must go berry-picking this year and make some jam!

Scotland's Festivals (4)The West End Festival in Glasgow always has an intruiging range of events on. Dundee too has launched a West End Festival though it is small scale in comparison. However you have to start somewhere and maybe in a few years it too will feature in this booklet! I’m also really looking forward to the Vintage Festival in Glasgow which is part of the Merchant City Festival in July.

Scotland's Festivals (5)I really like the idea of a Southern Fried Festival. Honestly, it’s really the food that attracts me but I’m sure the music will be just as good. Anyway, that’s just a quick snapshot. The booklet covers all tastes, and there’s a great range of events for families and children too. Have you been to a great small local festival that I should know about? Can be anywhere – I just want to know what’s great about it and why people should make an effort to go!

This weekend however I am going to be exploring the Open Studios North Fife, where lots of local artists open their homes and studios up to the public. Tantalising photos of artists’ work are going up every day on Facebook so I’m really looking forward to this – just need to plan my route, pack a picnic and I’m off! Roll on Saturday!

This entry was published on May 1, 2013 at 3:48 pm. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Festival Fever in Scotland!

  1. Yes, I was impressed with this too… saw a lot of listings for events I did not even know existed! Happy exploring.

Comments are closed.

