thebusythistle

Time to trade!

Lavender Bags (1)I’ve been in need of a simple craft project recently. The day job is hectic at the moment and I seem to be very busy in the evenings, so it’s a strange feeling when I finally stop. I don’t like it particularly so I needed something simple to make. I’m also heading to an event at the weekend where I need to bring something with me to trade – Dundee LETS (Local Exchange and Trading System) is a free economy where people trade skills and resources with each other. They’re having a welcome event and I thought I’d go along – I’ve been assured that crafts for gifts is quite popular but I’m intrigued to see what other skills and resources people bring with them!

Lavender Bags (2)However I have to have something to take with me, so in addition to some flower brooches which I demonstrated in an earlier post, I thought I would make some trendy lavender bags (can they ever be trendy?) out of black gingham fabric that I already had.

Lavender Bags (3)They were supposed to be square not rectangular as I had assumed that the squares on the fabric were actually squares – turns out they’re not, as you can see from the finished product. Oh well – adds to the homemade quality I think! I think they’re bang on trend though as monochrome home accessories and cross stitch seem to be everywhere at the moment!

Anyway, who knows whether people will like them or not but I’ll let you know how the event goes! Fingers crossed I’ll find someone who’ll love my lavender bags so much that they’ll help me put up a towel rail in the bathroom that’s been sitting in its packaging for a while now!

This entry was published on May 14, 2013 at 6:39 pm. It’s filed under Busy Living, Busy Making and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
