thebusythistle

Month of Creativity 2013 – Day 22

image

I went for afternoon tea at the Old Golf Course hotel in St. Andrews today. It was very pleasant and civilised. However I think there is always a place for sweet treats that are perhaps not so sophisticated. Growing up as children, we would often wake to the smell of baking on a Saturday morning as the Patient Mama earnestly filled the cake tins for the week. Sometimes though good old Mr. Kipling would make an appearance. I’m not so keen on the taste but I’ve always been attracted to the colours and regularity of his confections so I thought I would immortalise his classic French fancies in oil pastels today. What food epitomises your childhood and brings back memories?

This entry was published on June 22, 2013 at 6:40 pm. It’s filed under Busy Baking, Busy Making, Busy Month of June and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
