thebusythistle

A Secret Garden for the 21st Century

Yesterday I travelled south of Edinburgh and visited a garden called ‘Little Sparta‘. It is the creation of the now deceased Scottish poet, Ian Hamilton Finlay and it is an amazing space.  A world of it’s own, reached  by walking along a farm track, the garden is nestled amongst rambling hills and Scottish moorland; a contemplative, lush space filled with greenery and poetry. It is truly magical.

Little Sparta (4)The croft is divided into four or five spaces, which you reach by walking through undergrowth, following paths of reused bricks and tiles, inscribed with poetry. Finlay is reknowned for his concrete poetry of  the ’60s and this place is filled with words, inscribed in natural materials, and pictorially in the plants that fill the space. He makes continous references to classicism, war and water – it is a 1960s version of the gardens of the 18th century, such as Stowe.

Little Sparta (27)

 

Little Sparta (24)

It’s a beautiful place and I took lots of photos however I haven’t put them up because you really need to discover this place for yourself. All I can say is that a visit to Little Sparta will stay with you long after the actual experience.

Little Sparta (1)

 

Little Sparta (40)

I hope you have enjoyed these photos – I’m taking a little summer break from blogging but I will be having lots of experiences and adventures in the meantime, which will give me the boost I need for the coming months! Hope you have a fantastic summer – posts will be up in a couple of weeks time – in the meantime, if you have Busy Thistle withdrawl check out my Facebook and Twitter pages and keep in touch!

This entry was published on July 8, 2013 at 9:02 pm. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
