thebusythistle

Operation Serenity – Action 1

image

Do you come back from holiday feeling rejuvenated, refreshed and full of good intentions to maintain those feelings forever, only to be reduced to a winded heap by the end of the first week back at work? Mmmm, I do, however it doesn’t stop me from trying to be good after every holiday, hence Operation Serenity. When I get stressed and anxious I take it out on my body, often subconsciously; I don’t sleep, I eat but don’t enjoy my food, I never have time to exercise (apparently) and I start to develop weird, annoying minor ailments. Horrid! In the long-term it can’t be doing me any good so I’m putting a few small changes in place to see if they will have a lasting impact. First up, yoga! I haven’t been to a yoga or Pilates class for a couple of years now however recently I had been feeling that all the muscles in my body were feeling tight so I joined a friend at a yoga class this week. Boy was I right! My shoulders are still aching, though in a good way! I’d forgotten how relaxing it was though and will be returning! Once a week isn’t quite enough though so I’m going to try and do at least another session at home too! I’ll keep you posted on my success (I know I should be optimistic but judging from past efforts, I’m prepared to be quietly disappointed)! What do you do on a regular basis to maintain calm and balance in your life?

This entry was published on August 2, 2013 at 2:16 pm. It’s filed under Busy Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Operation Serenity – Action 1

  1. I keep promising myself that I’m going to get started on some kind of daily yoga routine, even if it’s just a sun salutation in the morning. It’s never quite worked out, though. Actually, my crafting kind of keeps me calm and balanced. I think it’s just a matter of doing something for myself, and purely for myself, every day that is the best form of self-care.

Comments are closed.

