thebusythistle

Operation Serenity – Action 2

GranolaAction 2 is all about having a good start to the day, following a restful night’s sleep. I love having something hot, but even with the best of intentions, I always seem to run out of time to make something. Cereal is usually my staple, but the one I used to eat has changed its recipe, it’s too expensive and does not taste nice, plus people are alway reminding me of the hidden salt and sugar in these things so…at the weekend I made my own granola!

The hotel I stayed in in Brighton had homemade granola and I had a bowl every morning with yoghurt – delicious! I’ve adapted this recipe from a magazine, partly because I couldn’t get all the ingredients, and partly because I don’t like the taste of things such as raw coconut. Feel free to make your own adaptations!

Ingredients

125ml veg oil, 350g oats, 50g wheatgerm, 50g sesame seeds, 75g sunflower seeds, 100g nuts (mixed or cashews, almonds or haz0lenuts), 5 tbsp honey, few drops of vanilla extract, 200g dried fruit (I used 150g raisins and 50g cranberries).

Method

Preheat oven to 150 degrees/ 130 fan/ gas mark 2. Grease a large baking tray. Mix all the dry ingredients apart from the dried fruit in a bowl. In a pan, gently melt the honey with the oil and then add the extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well. Tip onto the baking try. Bake for 20 minutes, stir it around and then bake for another 20 minutes. Take it out and let it cool – break it up in to bite-sized pieces and then store in an airtight container such as a kilner jar.

Eat with yoghurt or milk. You should make enough for two adults for one week.

It really is minimal prepartion for a brilliant taste in the morning, and I like the fact that you can experiment with the ingredients. Let me know what you think. I’d also be keen to know what others do for breakfast in the morning!

 

This entry was published on August 8, 2013 at 8:06 pm. It’s filed under Busy Cooking, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
