thebusythistle

Red squirrels and squelchy mud!

Hygge_TTWoods (18)I’ve been having one of those weeks where I feel like there are actually Greek Gods transpiring against me. Nothing major, but by last night I had had enough! On top of that it has pretty much rained all week and the nights are definitely drawing in. All this can literally dampen one’s spirit! However I will not be beaten!

I have a visit to Copenhagen planned in the middle of winter which I’m really looking forward to, but it got me thinking about how other people cope in winter in countries similar to Scotland. The Danish respond with something called ‘hygge’, roughly translated as ‘cosiness’. In Scotland we would call that ‘coorying in’, however it’s more than that. It’s about being good to oneself by creating a cosy atmosphere, sharing time, food and drink with friends and family, and basically having good chat. But I also think it’s about not giving yourself too hard a time and being kind to yourself. That’s what I’ve been doing this weekend. I had a lovely evening with friends last night and this morning I decided to get out in the fresh air.

I spend too long at a desk during the week and I needed to move and breathe in some fresh air (and treat myself to hot chocolate afterwards). Often I think we’re quick to dismiss going outside in bad weather however I am determined to rectify this, and try and get out whatever. It all comes down to wearing the right clothes! So, out came the wellies!

Hygge_TTWoods (1)I headed to Templeton Woods and those wellies turned out to be essential!

Hygge_TTWoods (29)There were puddles and mud everywhere! It was so much fun squelching around though – I felt like a child again! I haven’t been to the wood in ages and I had it all to myself which was blissful. No-one was around, there was no technology and all I could hear was the squishy mud underneath my feet, creatures rustling in leaves and twigs crunching; a perfect tonic after a long week. The rain had saturated everything but it meant that the ground felt alive. I became fascinated by the differences in texture of the bark of the trees, and branches glistening in the sunlight. To top it all off, I watched a red squirrel race up a tree and dance across the treetops – amazing!

Hygge_TTWoods (17)Anyway, enough of my poetic ramblings. Take a look at the photos and let me know what you think!

Hygge_TTWoods (25) Hygge_TTWoods (23) Hygge_TTWoods (6)Hygge_TTWoods (27) Hygge_TTWoods (24) Hygge_TTWoods (21) Hygge_TTWoods (26) Hygge_TTWoods (8)Hygge_TTWoods (20) Hygge_TTWoods (15) Hygge_TTWoods (11) Hygge_TTWoods (13) Hygge_TTWoods (28)

This entry was published on October 26, 2013 at 6:20 pm. It’s filed under Busy Exploring and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Red squirrels and squelchy mud!

  1. Beautiful photos! We’re heading into winter too, and it’s got me down. I’m not sure in the U.S. we have a good word for it like you do. Your post cheered me up a bit. Time to get away from the computer and go outside!

Comments are closed.

