thebusythistle

Handmade Christmas Gifts 2013

What a lovely, festive week I’ve had. Lots of family, lots of food, lots of drink and lots of good company. Time for a rest! Some of the best presents I’ve received this year have been handmade gifts. I was so busy in the run up to Christmas that I wasn’t planning on making presents this year however it felt wrong and as I began to see photos of my christmas decorations appearing on trees online I began to realise that people appreciate that you’ve spent some time and thought on their present – I certainly do. The present idea had to be quick though so I decided to hand-stamp my own Christmas napkins, all 56 of them!

Xmasnapkins (2)I made stamps from funky foam and cardboard and using fabric paint, created sets of napkins with either snowflakes or trees on them. These were then wrapped in bundles of four and a hand-printed gift tag attached.

Xmasnapkins (1) Xmasnapkins (3) Xmasnapkins (4)These seemed to go down well with recipients! I also made a cushion cover for my sister and her family.

wpid-DSC_0016.jpgI got the idea online. The tricky bit was finding a simple outline of the British Isles; in the end I drew one free-style hence the odd angularity. It shows the route we take by car and by train to get between Oxford and Dundee.

Have you received any lovely handmade Christmas presents this year? Here are some ideas from last year also. Many of the ideas can be adapted to presents for all year round. It really is a nice way of crafting with purpose. Anyway I’m off to get ready for the excitement of the new year. 2014 already…unbelievable!

This entry was published on December 29, 2013 at 11:02 am. It’s filed under Busy Living, Busy Making and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
