thebusythistle

An Easter gift for a child

Chocolate is the obvious present at this time of year however this is of no use for a baby or toddler. I wanted to send a gift to my niece and it therefore had to be small, light, and ultimately not something she could eat…so….I did a trawl of the internet for some inspiration and came across this idea.

EastergiftBuy a cardboard carton of eggs. Remove the eggs, boil them and decorate them; smash them up on a hill side somewhere (the eggs are not part of the gift). Decorate the box with some spring-like papers.

Eastergift2Surprise! Each section is filled with a pair of children’s socks, rolled up to look vaguely egg-shaped! The socks I bought only came in packs of 5 so I filled the sixth space with a small chicken ornament which can be kept as a momento!

Eastergift4I lined the inside of the box with paper too to make it pretty inside and out.

Eastergift3Carrying on the spring/Easter theme, I found a set of insect socks for little ones, which I thought was highly appropriate! It’s a nifty idea which requires a bit of imagination and creativity but can easily be put together by a busy person – my sort of crafty gift!

This entry was published on April 22, 2014 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Making and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “An Easter gift for a child

  1. Sarah on said:

    Oh I love that idea! I’m a bad Auntie and went with chocolate 🙂

Comments are closed.

