thebusythistle

Spring is springing in Scotland

The weather has taken a turn for the better and when I have had the chance I have headed out to take advantage of the sunshine. Recently I have visited a couple of places in North East Fife that I think are worthy of a post; they are both garden estates, small scale but beautifully looked after and worth a Sunday stroll around!

First up is Cambo Estate gardens, just along the coast from St. Andrews. There is a gorgeous garden and walled garden to admire. In addition to this, a gentle amble through a wooded valley with a river running through it, leads you down to the beach and endless-stretching views of the sea.

SpringinFife2014 (1) SpringinFife2014 (2) SpringinFife2014 (3)They pride themselves on their snowdrops, and are probably best known for their evening snowdrop walks however they also care about art, and so there are many different sculptures scattered around the estate. This one is my favourite…

SpringinFife2014 (4)Not so far away from Cambo, is the National Trust property and estate, Kellie Castle, which was previously owned by the Lorimer family.

SpringinFife2014 (8)Volunteers tend the walled garden with extreme care and attention; it’s a perfect place for chickens to roam!

SpringinFife2014 (9) SpringinFife2014 (7) SpringinFife2014 (6) SpringinFife2014 (5)I can tell I’m beginning to age because I am fascinated by gardens these days. Please tell me I’m not the only one! I love nothing better than finding a garden bench in a sunny spot and watching bees buzz around me! Walled gardens, like these, particularly fascinate me as they tend to contain a mixture of practical planting for food, and plants which are just aesthetically pleasing. There’s also something different to see each time you visit.

With the new Headquarters, I now have a patch of land that I am allowed to put planters on so I’m hoping that this will be something I will be able to develop once the chaos of the move and settling-in has taken place. Any tips or advice for starting out with a relatively barren patch of land will be gratefully received!

This entry was published on April 24, 2014 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
