thebusythistle

Memories of the Windy Miller

As ever life is full, which for most of the time is great, however every now and again I need to take some time out. This weekend I decided to do just that however I didn’t want to go far so I headed to Barry Mill, near Carnoustie, which is a National Trust property. It’s a real gem of a property however one that is hardy ever visited; to ensure its survival I urge you to go and take a look before it shuts for the winter (end of October).

Barry Mill 2014 (5)

It’s a water-powered mill which used to provide a service to all the farms and people living in the surrounding area; now the wheel only turns when a curious visitor is on the premises…

Barry Mill 2014 (21) Barry Mill 2014 (1)Within the grounds there are some lovely short walks and I got quite inspired with the camera. There were also some friendly sheep to keep me company!
Barry Mill 2014 (16) Barry Mill 2014 (12) Barry Mill 2014 (10) Barry Mill 2014 (8) Barry Mill 2014 (7)

There is also a beautiful small orchard and plenty of picnic benches!

Barry Mill 2014 (20)

The mill grinds a range of cereals however unfortunately you can’t buy your porridge oats there now. However, I did buy a porridge spurtle which is a traditional Scots implement for stirring the porridge, which has become my favourite breakfast dish of the moment!

Barry Mill 2014 (23)

As I was putting this post together, I was reminded of the Windy Miller from Camberwick Green so I thought I would end with a quick, nostalgic clip for those of us who were brought up in the 70s and 80s on a diet of gentle-paced children’s television!

 

This entry was published on October 1, 2014 at 9:12 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
