thebusythistle

Things to do – January 2015

So I am back into the full swing of work again after a lovely, but busy break. I had people to stay and Christmas to host, then New Year was spent down south catching up with family. In between all that I took myself off for a couple of nights away to the Blythswood Hotel in Glasgow for some respite and pampering; I booked this treat back in the summer and at the time it seemed a pretty crazy idea however it was totally worth it as I find it pretty tricky to fully relax when I am at home.

Anyway, this post is the start of a series of 12 consisting of short lists of things to do each month. When life is busy. we sometimes forget how to enjoy the spare moments when they arise so these lists are meant to inspire! This month consists of things which do not cost much money, as I have a feeling the majority of us have overindulged recently!

1) Go for a walk. January is renowned for being cold and dark, particularly up here in Scotland but I try to get out as much as possible. It sounds corny but I do feel better for it after I get home (usually helped by a mug of hot chocolate).Jan1

2) Visit a museum or gallery. When I was in Glasgow I visited the Gallery of Modern Art for the first time in years. It has some super exhibitions on at the moment and I enjoyed just wandering around and letting my brain wander too. People have different strategies for visits such as these; I like to let my eyes scan and focus in on objects that grab my attention rather than try and see everything in one go. That way, when you go back there’ll still be plenty to see! If you’re not sure what is on in your local area check out Culture24 for ideas; it covers the whole of the UK.Jan3

3) Keep cosy with a range of hot drinks. My favourite hot drink is Red Bush tea but I drink so much of it in the winter to keep warm that it’s nice to have some alternatives. I’ve discovered Pukka teas and currently have their Mint one, Night-time one, Lemon and Manuka Honey and Early Grey tea; they are delicious. Plus I had afternoon tea at the Blythswood they served me with a decaffinated Ceylon which was also rather nice. In fact, if you have the cash go for afternoon tea anyway!Jan2

4) Phone or Skype a friend you haven’t seen in a while. The real joy of my holidays are catching up with people I haven’t seen in ages. Often I return with full intentions of keeping up the contact, only to realise a couple of months later that I have made no effort and have been relying on Facebook instead, which is not cool!

5) Finally, celebrate Burns Night. My sister does this every year down south; she pulls together a big group of friends, cooks a slap up meal and educates them in the way of the Bard. Even if you know nothing about Rabbie Burns it’s a good excuse to get together and celebrate getting through the first, drab month of the year, so I think she’s on to something! Here’s a photo of some haggis, just to whet your appetite (or not, if you’re vegetarian)!Jan4

 

If you would like to find out more about Burns and his poetry take a look at the Scottish Poetry Library website.

So that’s the first list. Feedback and other ideas are really welcomed! Happy 2015!

This entry was published on January 7, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Things to Do and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
