thebusythistle

Meander in the museum

I was in Edinburgh for a hen weekend just past. It was a lovely occasion but I also managed to squeeze in a visit or two to some exhibitions and museums that I have been meaning to visit for a while.

First up was the small but fascinating exhibition by fashion students inspired by Renaissance portraits at the National Portrait Gallery.

Feb_Edinburgh (2) Feb_Edinburgh (3) Feb_Edinburgh (4)
Feb_Edinburgh (6)

It would have been good to see more to be honest however the Scottish National Portrait Gallery have a fantastic cafe and the homebakes were calling me! It’s also just a super building to wander around.

Feb_Edinburgh (1)I also made it to the National Museum of Scotland to see an exhibition of Indian art and a contemporary jewellery collection too, though the photos haven’t come out well.

Feb_Edinburgh (11)Finally a quick trip to the National Library to see the results of an annual book binding competition, which is actually more interesting than it sounds, and the latest creations by the mysterious Book Sculptor.

Feb_Edinburgh (14) Feb_Edinburgh (15) Feb_Edinburgh (13) Feb_Edinburgh (12)

 

Oh and I also went for a sunny but very windy walk around Holyrood Park – it was too windy to go up Arthur’s seat, though some brave souls were attempting it!

Feb_Edinburgh (9) Feb_Edinburgh (10)Finally I took this photo of one of the Harvey Nick windows as I thought he was really fun!

Feb_Edinburgh (8)I really enjoy my periodic visits to Edinburgh however it was nice to come home on Sunday evening to my little beach corner of the world, which is far less frenetic but very picturesque!

Feb_Edinburgh(10)

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on March 4, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
