thebusythistle

Easter Break – Part 1

Manchester (54)I have had a week of holiday and it has been heaven! Following a very relaxing Easter weekend, I headed to Glasgow for a night of spa and cocktails. Then I headed for Manchester for no other reason than I’ve been meaning to go since I saw that the Whitworth had reopened. What an eye-opener of a city; I’m already planning my next visit as 48 hours just wasn’t enough time. I’ve taken so many photos and crammed in so much, including shopping and cocktails, that I felt two posts were needed so here is Part 1 of things to do in Manchester:

Have a cream tea in the Sculpture Gallery of the City Hall;

Manchester (11) Manchester (8) Manchester (12)

 

Visit the John Ryland Library;

Manchester (14) Manchester (16) Manchester (20)

Visit the newly opened Whitworth Art Gallery, particularly the Cornelia Parker exhibition that is on at the moment;

Manchester (35) Manchester (4) Manchester (34) Manchester (36) Manchester (32) Manchester (3)

 

Go to a play at the Royal Exchange Theatre; this place is amazing as the auditorium is a suspended ‘bubble’ placed inside the original Exchange. Plays are performed in the round; I saw ‘Anna Karenina’ and it was really quite effective regardless of not having a set as such.Manchester (5)Anyway, those were just some of the things I managed to fit in while I was away. Although I was only there for 48 hours, it really felt like a much longer holiday, which must mean that I enjoyed myself! Keep an eye out for Part 2 and thank you for reading!








 

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 14, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
