thebusythistle

Easter Break – Part 2

Was this really only last week? The holiday feels like it was ages ago – oh well! Here are some more must-see places in Manchester:

Head to Salford Quays. I spent the majority of my time in the Lowry looking at the art and then I sat out in a deckchair outside the BBC offices and watched a giant screen television in the sunshine. Next time I go, I will be heading to the Imperial War Museum; the building is amazing from the outside!

Manchester (59) Manchester (56) Manchester (53) Manchester (51) Manchester (50) Manchester (46) Manchester (43) Manchester (42)The Manchester Art Gallery is also worth a visit. I only discovered it on my last morning so did a quick dash but I want to go back as they have an amazing collection of Pre-Raphaelites that deserve more attention! The temporary exhibitions of 1950s cotton couture and of interpretations of home were also fascinating.

Manchester (7) Manchester (6) Manchester (63) Manchester (64) Manchester (65) Manchester (62)

If you want to know more about democracy in Britain, then go to the People’s History Museum. Again this is a place that I need to go back to in order to fully take in the collection, but it was a good reminder of the importance of using my vote!

Manchester (2) Manchester (1)

Finally, just wandering around the city and taking in the architecture is totally worth doing. Next time I want to explore the industrial side of Manchester and the canals in more detail.

Manchester (30) Manchester (26) Manchester (28) Manchester (31)So that’s Manchester. I shopped and saw sites and I drank a few cocktails in between. Plus it was warm and sunny. An ideal city break really!

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 16, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
