thebusythistle

My favourite thing on holiday is…

…staying in hotel rooms. I love them! This love affair started back when I was a child once we had a car. It allowed us to go on longer journeys but this meant breaking up the journey. The humble Travelodge and Novotel beckoned and we stayed, all four of us, in a room. Of course, the novelty of this soon wore off however the excitement returned once my sister and I were old enough to have a room to ourselves. The rooms weren’t special by any stretch of the imagination but it felt very grown up to have it to ourselves and of course there were the freebies like soap and shower caps!

Now things have changed a bit. My first experience with the luxurious was when I worked in Business Development and had to visit Amsterdam for a conference; the hotel was huge, in the centre, and was probably, for many, not that special. However I had a split level room, marble bathroom and the window opened out onto a canal – it was heaven! It was all mine and it was very plush compared to my home – the love affair had begun.

Having said all this, I don’t stay in hotels that often and I have stayed in some really crummy ones; the Barcelona hotel converted from a monastery was in a great location just off the Ramblas however the bedbugs were unwelcome visitors as was the street noise at 3am! Premier Inns and Travelodges still feature in my life. If you get a chance a stay in a Citizen M hotel is recommended; technically budget (though not at weekends in Glasgow) each room has a bed which fits the width of the room (the rooms are not massive), a glass pod bathroom, and a lighting and sound system which can be changed to a number of settings to suit the mood (no photos I’m afraid).

Anyway, the hotel experience for me starts as soon as you enter the premises; these photos were taken in a hotel in Budapest that I stayed in a couple of years ago now, between Christmas and New Year. This by the way is an ideal time to bag a bargain as most people either stay for Christmas or New Year but not in between, so you can get some good deals on normally quite expensive hotels.

Budapest (1) Budapest (2)Once you have checked in it’s time to find the room and dump your bags. I love the first time you enter the room as everything is (or should be) immaculately ready for your arrival; my second stay at the Blythswood in Glasgow last week saw the inclusion of a personalised note welcoming me back for my second visit – a nice touch I thought.

Blythswood (2) Blythswood (5) Mallaig (1) Blythswood (6) Manchester (1)

BrightonBedroom appraised, it’s then time to take a look at the bathroom, hoping it is really clean and pristine. At the moment, the bathroom arrangements in my own home are functional but not exactly pretty so hotel bathrooms are a real draw!

Blythswood (3) Manchester (3)Then there’s the freebies, particularly the toiletries – I’ve got a pretty stash of these at the moment!

Blythswood (1) Manchester (4)Once you’ve done that you have to suss out the tea tray; I often take my own redbush teabags, however hotels are getting better at providing a range these days. The biscuit factor is also important, with Tunnocks teacakes featuring heavily in Scottish establishments at the moment.

Mallaig (2) Manchester (5)

 

Finally it’s time to check out the mini-bar to look at all the things that you won’t buy due to the extortionate prices…

Blythswood (4)Once all that has been done, and a hairdryer has been located, I like to make myself that cup of tea, prop myself up on the bed and turn on the large screen TV to watch nonsense for half an hour while I decide what to do next and look at all the literature they provide. Then it’s time to head out to acquaint myself with afternoon tea, a meal in the restaurant or a cocktail in the bar…

Hotelfood (1) Hotelfood (3) Hotelfood (2)

 

…I love hotels!

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 22, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “My favourite thing on holiday is…

  1. That’s so true. I also love staying at good hotels. A nice room, a good spa and amazing food make holidays right perfect 🙂

Comments are closed.

