thebusythistle

A botanical gem in St. Andrews…and a Gruffalo!

StAndBot_2015 (12)

I really feel like my Vitamin D levels are needing replenishing after winter however the weather is not quite playing ball at the moment; one minute it’s sunny, the next there’s a downpour, and throughout this there are gale force winds! Ah well, that’s one of the joys of living on the North East coast of Scotland I suppose! Anyway at the weekend I decided to brave it anyway and headed over to the Botanic Gardens in St. Andrews. What a gem of a place! I’m ashamed to say I have never been before but I will definitely be heading back.

StAndBot_2015 (7)

I think botanic gardens are fascinating places mainly because they give you a glimpse of what other continents are like around the world, in a small number of hectares, plus you learn about plants that are native to where you live. The St. Andrews garden is larger than Dundee with more glasshouses, a forest area down by a burn and a gorgeous rockery that leads to a large pond.

StAndBot_2015 (8) StAndBot_2015 (10) StAndBot_2015 (13) StAndBot_2015 (14) StAndBot_2015 (17) StAndBot_2015 (18) StAndBot_2015 (23) StAndBot_2015 (24)It also has a fabulous Gruffalo trail for children, down in the forest, and it was a real pleasure to see families exploring the garden together, reading the special signs and spotting the animals from the book.

StAndBot_2015 (26) StAndBot_2015 (27) StAndBot_2015 (28)Anyway, I topped up on some Vitamin D, relaxed to the sounds of wind blowing in the trees and birds chirruping in the branches, took in the scents of spring and generally felt far more at peace with the world when I left than when I entered! Definitely worth a visit if you’re in the area!
StAndBot_2015 (20)

 

 

This entry was published on May 20, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
