thebusythistle

A trip down gin lane

Edenmill (4)This week I finally got round to visiting Eden Mill, a local distillery and brewery, located near Leuchars, between Dundee and St. Andrews. Originally a small craft brewery, last year they branched out into gin, and have recently begun production of whisky. I’m becoming quite a fan of interesting gins so a trip to the Mill to go on one of their Gin Tours has been on my to-do list for a while. I must say, it was a very pleasant way to spend a couple of drizzly hours over Saturday lunch.

Edenmill (3)

It’s available to buy in local shops and some supermarkets, but can also be purchased online, which makes this a premium Scottish product. Their Sea Buckthorn Gin is their ‘house’ gin and we each received a glass of this, filled with Fevertree tonic and a slice of pink grapefruit – it was a very pleasant drink and got the tour off to a good start. This was then followed by a talk about the history of gin and how it is made, and then a tour of the Mill which really is very small!

Edenmill (8)

Once this was done it was back to the tasting room to try their current range. First the Golf Gin, which has been produced for this season. I can’t remember what was in it, but it was served with tonic, apple and mint; out of all of them this wasn’t my favourite (I was still hankering after the Sea Buckthorn) but I enjoyed it anyway.

Edenmill (1)We then tasted the Love Gin with elderflower tonic and strawberries; I loved this so much that I now have a bottle and plan to make this my drink of the summer, if it ever properly arrives up here! Finally we tried the Oak Gin with Ginger Ale and orange slices; I’d expected not to like this concoction however it was a pleasant surprise and I think it would be really nice in the winter.

Edenmill (2)

We were then left to peruse the shop and of course were in such a good mood that purchases were made! I also had time to take some photos of these lovely glass windows that decorated the tasting area!

Edenmill (7) Edenmill (6)

Anyway, if you are up this way for the golf, or a holiday, I would recommend a visit. Scotland is currently experiencing a boom in craft gin at the moment and so far I’ve not been disappointed by what I’ve tasted so I think I will see where else I can get to this summer!Edenmill (5)

 

This entry was published on July 8, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A trip down gin lane

  1. Looks like a great day out, with lots of lovely gin to keep things running smoothly! I’m particularly intrigued by the Oak Gin – might have to hunt this down and turn it into autumn/ winter cocktails. Jx

Comments are closed.

