thebusythistle

Sunday Musings…

Today was Mother’s Day in the UK. A day which can bring much joy or much sadness depending on who you are, not helped by the constancy of social media. For me it was a Sunday to spend with my family, a Sunday where I stopped the hectic pace and just relaxed, a Sunday to enjoy. The weather was good and the Tay looked as gorgeous as ever…

Mday2016 (22)

The swans were putting on a good show to the family groups heading out for a stroll along the beach….Mday2016 (25)Mday2016 (26)

I ‘cooked’ Sunday lunch for the parentals. I say ‘cooked’ but for once I cheated and bought everything, bar the dessert, from M&S. Idealised lives are often played out on social media and I know I contribute to this but this time round I did not spend hours in the kitchen at the weekend preparing and cooking a splendid dinner. I have had a very busy, tiring couple of weeks and so I bought everything, opened up the packets and bunged it in the oven. It cost slightly more in money, but considerably less in time, and the result was still pretty tasty. Plus I was in a fit state to be sociable which is actually the most important thing after all! I did decorate the table…

Mday2016 (9)

And I did buy a couple of bottles of amazing Chilean Chardonnay, that I will be buying again in the not too distant future. Plus I made dessert…a delicious cake from the Nordic Bakery Cookbook…

Mday2016 (29)

Basically I prioritised what was important, family and my sanity, plus cake and wine, over trying to pull out all the stops which would have left me exhausted and frazzled. It was a great day, everybody got fed and we all had a good, slightly sozzled, laugh. It was totally worth the shortcuts and I’d thoroughly recommend it. I hope you’ve had a lovely Sunday doing whatever it is that makes you happy and relaxed!

 

This entry was published on March 6, 2016 at 8:37 pm. It’s filed under Busy Baking, Busy Cooking, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
