thebusythistle

A little bit of grandeur and history…

Scone16 (17)

I have been on holiday this week and it has been lovely to go at my pace rather than one dictated by work and study. I’ve drunk champagne, been to the cinema (saw ‘Spotlight’ which I would thoroughly recommend), eaten pizza and tapas, shopped in Aberdeen and ventured to a rather drookit Burntisland to visit friends. It’s been braw!

I thought I would share with you however a wee trip I made to Scone Palace. This estate has played a significant part in British history and politics over the centuries. It’s current form however came about in the 19C and is filled with historic treasures from across the globe. My favourites however were the paintings, particularly from the 18C, featuring artists such as Reynolds, Hogarth and Zoffany. Unfortunately photographs are not allowed inside but I took plenty outside as it was a beautiful day; sunny, clear but with the odd shower.

Scone16 (10)Scone16 (14)

The family are still in residence and run the estate as a business so there is a significant entry charge. However it has all the usual trappings of a historic house with tearoom and shop, and the grounds contain a range of woodland walks, an adventure playground and a maze, so it is easily a day visit.

Scone16 (22)Scone16 (24)Scone16 (25)Scone16 (28)Scone16 (31)Scone16 (8)

I particularly enjoyed exploring the grounds and ended up taking over 50 photos. In particular I was fascinated by the trees and the texture of the bark. I also enjoyed the kitchen garden, and I am planning a return visit in the summer once plants have grown.

Scone16 (37)Scone16 (45)

There are beautiful views out across the hills and the Perth Racecourse…

Scone16 (50)

…this photo reminds me of a Gainsborough landscape…

Scone16 (53)

Finally I should introduce you to the star attraction…the resident peacocks; they’re quite aggressive though, ready to do battle for any picnic you may bring!

Scone16 (1)

Scone Palace makes for a lovely day out particularly if you get the weather to explore the grounds fully. In the summer it gets quite busy so now is a good time to visit if you get a chance!

I have been trialing different timings of posts since January but have actually decided to revert to the old formula so Silent Sunday will be starting again this week with an interest post appearing middle of the week. Enjoy reading!

This entry was published on April 7, 2016 at 9:15 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living, Things to Do and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
