thebusythistle

Seeking out some culture

Scotland is currently a creative hotbed at the moment. In addition to some fascinating exhibitions public sculptures are appearing across cities and countryside. I’ve visit a few in the last couple of weeks and I thought I’d share them here.

First was a visit to see the Mirror Man by Rob Mulholland standing in Loch Earn…in the rain. It was a mean and moody day…

MirrorMan (1)MirrorMan (2)MirrorMan (3)

There were originally 3-4 installed however the Scottish weather felled them and now there is one just left standing. He looked a little lonely that day to be honest!

Next, in Dundee, it is the final week of the Grey Gardens exhibition at DCA, part of the Festival of Architecture.

My visit was brief and I should spend more time in it. There were a series’ of photographs on the wall which I enjoyed looking at but I think it deserves some more attention overall.

Finally I visited the Tramway in Glasgow for the first time, I’m ashamed to say. What a building and it was a great exhibition too, part of the Glasgow International Festival that is coming to an end also.

Tramway (2)Tramway (1)Tramway (3)Tramway (4)Tramway (5)Tramway (6)Tramway (7)

As you can probably tell from the photos, I really enjoyed viewing Sheila Hicks’ textile installation, particularly the scale of it. Anyway, lots happening in Scotland at the moment which is great. The next few weeks will be work focused so not much opportunity for exploring unfortunately but that’s life! Enjoy your week!

This entry was published on April 27, 2016 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
