thebusythistle

Good toes, bad toes…

…this is the only exercise I remember from the ballet classes I took as a young child. I wasn’t very good so I didn’t carry them on past the age of 6/7. However I did love watching the ballet when I was a child and I have been rekindling that love this year.

Ballet

I watched Scottish Ballet’s Cinderella back in January and loved every minute of it. This weekend I went up to Inverness to see their production of Swan Lake. The reason we had to trek up north was because the show had sold out in Edinburgh, Glasgow and Aberdeen by the time we came to book, always a good sign, so we thought we would go to the Eden Court Theatre instead, which is actually a lovely theatre to watch a show in.

I really enjoyed the production. The design was minimalistic, both sets and costume, but this meant that the dancing took centre stage. The story is quite simple and it has a very sad ending, played out beautifully in the orchestra with the harp. I found the first half a little slow, however the second half was full of energy, particularly when the black swan (evil woman) entered and seduced Siegried (the hero). The combination of Tchaikovsky’s score and the dancing on stage led to a perfectly relaxing afternoon.

It also brought back memories of how happy I felt watching the ballet as a child. My favourite will always be the Nutcracker. In the photo above there is a DVD of a production that I used to watch every time I visited my godparents in Edinburgh, without fail. I loved it, especially when Clara and the Prince were dancing at the end. I also still have the Ballerina Sindy that I bought with my holiday penny when we visited a toy shop in Haworth one summer. My sister bought the Ice Dancer equivalent and promptly undressed her and pulled apart the hair-do, but I kept mine pristine. I thought she was perfect. So much so that I still have her thirty odd years later! I must admit she’s looking a little tired now but I will never part with her!

Anyway, I think I’ve got the dancing bug again so I will definitely make a point of watching more. I may keep an eye out for a ballet fitness class for adults too as the dancers are amazingly fit with phenomenal, toned, bodies! If you could revive a hobby or an interest from your childhood, what would it be?

This entry was published on May 11, 2016 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
