thebusythistle

Madrid 2016 – Part 1

So that’s me back to work after a three week break. It has been a lovely holiday. I have caught up with family and people that I haven’t seen in ages, spent time on beaches and in the hills, read a lot of novels, picked up a paint brush, a crochet hook and a violin bow, and I have got on top of some more mundane household tasks as well! I have never met anyone who is keen to get back to work after a holiday but I feel that I have made the most of my three weeks!

I also managed a trip to Madrid for a week, a capital city that I have never visited before! It was a great, and busy week. The temperatures were high and we had blue skies and sunshine every day. I love the heat and the warmth and my only sadness is that that is probably my one week of proper sunshine for the year…better than nothing I suppose! As every I took a large number of photos, over 300 I think but I have whittled them down to a selection for two posts. This post mainly consists of the key tourist sites while the second post, out next week, will be a little more arty-farty, as we say in the Busy Thistle family! I hope you enjoy viewing them and I hope you are having a lovely summer too!

Plaza de Espana

Plaza de Espana – the hotel I stayed in is the little building on the right. It had a rooftop bar and pool – heaven!

Palacio Real

Palacio Real and the Jardines de Sabatini

Jardines de Sabatini

Jardines de Sabatini

Palacio Real

Palacio Real

Museo Reina Sofia

Museo Reina Sofia – house Picasso’s Guernica along with an extensive collection of 20C and 21C Spanish art.

Plaza de La Cibeles

Plaza de La Cibeles – not sure what this building actually was but thought it was impressive enough for a photo!

Puerta de Alcala

Puerta de Alcala – Plaza de la Indepencia

Chocolateria San Gines

Chocolateria San Gines – serves the most amazing churros!

Plaza Mayor

Plaza Mayor

Museo del Prado

Museo del Prado

Estacion de Atocha

Estacion de Atocha – this is a Victorian train station converted into a botanic greenhouse. Trains still run from here but from a modern extension attached to the back.

Parqe del Retiro

Parque del Retiro

Parque del Retiro

Parque del Retiro

Gran Via

Gran Via looking north from the Circulo de Bellas Artes.

Old Madrid

Random street in Old Madrid

Catedral de la Almudena

Catedral de la Almudena – taken on the last night from the rooftop of the hotel (gosh I miss that rooftop)!

This entry was published on August 3, 2016 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
