thebusythistle

Small Pleasures

smallpleasures-2I never make New Year’s resolutions; I think it’s much better to act on a moment of resolve when it occurs rather than storing it up for a specific time, particularly the first day of the first, and bleakest, month of the year! I got into the gym habit that way. Following an October holiday break I decided that I wanted to see if regular exercise would help me when it came to the regular marking marathon that occurs in December and usually results in me sitting at a desk day in, day out, feeling tired, lousy and complaining of a sore back. So I decided to do early morning, short sessions and take it week by week. I’m certainly not a gym fan now but I’ve felt the benefits enough to know that it is good for me so now I’ve kept the habit!

So no resolutions but I do want to try and keep the following 5 F’s in mind:

  • Family
  • Friends
  • Food
  • Fresh Air
  • Fun

Bit of a no-brainer really but I figure if I concentrate on these things then the other stuff, the mundane stuff that has to happen such as work, PhD and health, will just have to happen without drama. But I also know myself and I know that when I return to daily life after a holiday all the resolve to be calm and focused on what matters tends to go out the window within 48 hours so for the month of January I am keeping a visual diary of all the the small pleasures that occur each day. I got the idea from a set of cards published by the School of Life. Basically it will be a visual reminder that there are things worth appreciating every day. I’ll be posting each day and also uploading an image to Instagram (@thebusythistle #smallpleasures) and it would be great if other people got involved too!

I should have uploaded this post yesterday however I had a rather lovely Hogmany which resulted in feeling sorry for myself yesterday with a hangover and a cold. The best I could manage was the family New Year’s Day roast and a blustery walk along the beach, so today you get two small pleasures for the price of one!

Yesterday’s small pleasure was spending time with the wee ones of the family and viewing the world through their eyes.

smallpleasures-1

Every experience is an adventure whether it’s visiting an art gallery or trying to build a sandcastle on a beach while it’s blowing a gale! Life is a matter of being happy or sad and there tends to be plenty of laughs along the way. I don’t see them enough but always value the time with them when I do!

Today’s small pleasure was being able to enjoy a crisp, cold, calm, sunny winter’s day because I was on holiday.

smallpleasures-3

I get quite frustrated with the short winter days, especially when it’s sunny outside and I am stuck indoors working, knowing that it will be dark by the time I get home, do this was lovely! I took myself off to St.Andrews as I was beginning to get cabin fever from the last two weeks of entertaining, eating and drinking. I mooched around my favourite bookshops, drank hot chocolate and walked along the coast in the afternoon sunshine. It was glorious.

Anyway that’s us up-to-date. Not all the posts will be as long as this one but I hope you enjoy keeping track of my progress. You never know what’s around the corner and I love planning but I think being more in the present is the way to go and I’m going to endeavour to try and do this more this year! I wish you all a Happy New Year and thank you for reading!

This entry was published on January 2, 2017 at 6:54 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Small Pleasures

  1. Lovely post – I’m in on the insta challenge – small pleasures!

Comments are closed.

