thebusythistle

Weekend Adventure – Edinburgh on a budget

Edinburgh is an ideal weekend destination on any budget. I love a visit to the Scottish capital and I always discover somewhere new to visit. 

A couple of weekends ago I headed through for two nights. I had little money as it was January and I was recovering from Christmas. However I came home feeling like I had had a wee holiday and a proper rest. It helped that the weather was glorious!

If it’s a sunny day then a walk up Calton Hill is a good idea, and not as long as Arthur’s Seat. In my memory, I don’t think I have been here before, though the parentals may dispute this and say I was up there when I was 2. Anyway it’s a super viewpoint of the city on a clear day, summer or winter.

For a rainy day, head to one of the many free art galleries or museums. My favourite is the National Portrait Gallery.

There’s always a couple of interesting exhibitions on, as well as a permanent collection of key figures in Scotland’s history. It also plays host to a selection of portraits from the BP Portrait Awards. Finally it has a lovely, but very busy, café which serves tasty cakes.

And that leads me on to my final budget tip. If you are in need of a nice but relatively inexpensive meal the head to The Dogs on Hanover Street.

For £17 I had a glass of wine, macaroni and roasted cauliflower cheese with a side salad, followed by a slice of chilli chocolate tart. The service is also excellent so I think it is really good value for money.


Anyway, those are my key tips. I’m off to Birmingham for February’s weekend adventure. I love Birmingham but if you have any insider tips, let me know!

This entry was published on February 8, 2017 at 10:00 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living, Weekend Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
