thebusythistle

The Hygge Factor

Last week I was on holiday in Denmark: a couple of days in Copenhagen followed by a couple days in Aarhus. I had a fabulous time! The weather was mixed but there was plenty to see and do, and people were so friendly and relaxed. One of the things I liked most was that it was perfectly acceptable to take time over a coffee or a meal; there was no rush and I was surrounded by people doing just that, chatting to friends or reading their book. It was an ideal environment to relax in and I think I began to understand the ever-fashionable term ‘hygge’. A week on, back in the UK, and I think I also understand why we can only ever borrow that term here rather than claim it. We don’t really know how to live at a slower pace on a daily basis here. 

Anyway, I fell in love with some of the cafe, bar and restaurant interiors. Key to this were the candles; I ended up buying the Ittala candleholder above as a souvenir as they were all over the Ruby, a bar that makes fab cocktails and pipes Radio 4 comedy shows into the toilets!




Also if you want to attempt the Hygge factor at home, you need low lighting and some rather lovely ceramics. I could have bought every piece in Designer Zoo!


Finally, when all else fails, buy a sticky buns. The cinnamon buns at Meyers Bakery were heavenly but I’m sure we have British equivalents in that department!

This entry was published on July 22, 2017 at 11:32 am. It’s filed under Busy Exploring, Busy Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “The Hygge Factor

  1. Looks like you had a lovely time in the hygge capital – I’m very jealous, I’d love to visit Denmark one day. 😊

  2. Lovely post – love your candle, a perfect way to bring a little home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

